Classic Gershwin Showreel

A taster of Classic Gershwin, 7 Star Arts’ most popular mixed genre production, starring Viv McLean (piano) and Susan Porrett (narrator). Music by George Gershwin


7 Star Arts’ Susan Porrett in ‘The Slaves of Solitude’ at Hampstead Theatre

Our wonderful friend and actress Susan Porrett, creator of our acclaimed multi-genre productions Classic Gershwin, Divine Fire, Sweet Harmony and Chekhov’s Grand Piano, will be appearing at Hampstead Theatre in ‘The Slaves of Solitude’, a play by Nicholas Wright adapted from a novel by Patrick Hamilton, which weaves a fascinating blend of dark hilarity and melancholy in a story about an improbable heroine in wartime Britain. Directed by Jonathan Kent, the play runs from October 20th to November 25th 2017. Details here

This winter Susan appears in two 7 Star Arts concerts – ‘Russian Winter Concert’ with Alena Lugovkina (flute) and Anne Denholm (harp) at Dorich House, Kingston on 7th December and our much-loved ‘Classic Gershwin’ with Viv McLean (piano) in the Jazz Room at the Bulls Head on 21st December.

Please visit our Events page for full details and tickets for these concerts and other 7 Star Arts productions.



Classic Gershwin at the OSO

7 Star Arts most popular production returns to the OSO Arts Centre in Barnes where it received its world premiere in 2014.

‘Classic Gershwin’ weaves the vibrant music of the ever-popular composer George Gershwin with his fascinating life story from birth in the colourful, teeming New York of 1898 to his tragically early death in 1937.

With prize-winning pianist and renowned Gershwin interpreter Viv McLean and RSC, National Theatre and TV actress Susan Porrett as narrator, this mixed-genre concert presents an intriguing, eclectic mix of Gershwin’s music from the much-loved Rhapsody in Blue, I got Rhythm Variations, The Man I Love and Swanee to the rarely-played classical Preludes.

Tickets £14 in advance / £15 on the door


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Clara Rodriguez, piano, at Russian Culture House

Mussorgsky | Rachmaninov | Prokofiev

Clara Rodriguez – piano
Susan Porrett – reader
Klara Smith – art

Venezuelan pianist Clara Rodriguez, one of the most distinguished of the present generation of international artists, presents a programme of piano music by three great Russian masters, including Mussorgsky’s characterful Pictures At An Exhibition.
The music is interwoven with readings by Susan Porrett and projected images, inspired by Pictures at an Exhibition, by artist Klara Smith.


  • £20 in advance / £25 on the door


Clara’s expressive and powerful performances conveyed great lyricism to a magnetized audience
Rachmaninov – Elegy, Preludes Op. 23 No 4, 5, 6 and Op. 32 No 4 and No 12
Prokofiev – Sonata No 3, Prelude and Devilish Inspiration
Mussorgsky – Pictures At An Exhibition

This slideshow requires JavaScript.