MEI-TING & FRIENDS Yanyan Lin, cello, & Michelle Chow, piano

Yanyan Lin cello

Michaelle Chow piano


Tickets £15

Schumann – Märchenbilder Op. 113

Beethoven – Sonata Op. 102 No. 2

-Interval –

Rachmaninoff – Sonata Op. 19


Beethoven’s dramatic Sonata for Piano & Cello, Opus 102, No.2, combines an exuberant vitality with deep expression, while Rachmaninoff’s Cello Sonata in G minor, Op. 19 is a piece on a grand scale, at times redolent of the Piano Concerto no. 2 (which was composed at the same time), which explores the cello’s capacity for expressive tenderness and intensity, particularly in the beautifully meditative slow movement.


Born in 1995, Yanyan Lin obtained his Bachelor Degree at the Shanghai Conservatoire and who studied for the Advanced Diploma in Performance at the Royal Academy of Music with Jo Cole and Christoph Richter. He is the recipient of the Hans Keller Award for 2019/20 and was awarded the ABRSM Scholarship, the Foundation Award of the Royal Academy of Music, and the Diploma of the Royal Academy of Music. He is a laureate of the China National Chamber Music Competition and American Protégé Competition.


Dutch-Chinese collaborative pianist Michelle Chow has performed in many venues throughout The Netherlands, the U.K. and the U.S., including the Concertgebouw and Muziekgebouw aan ‘t IJ in Amsterdam, Tivoli Vredenburg in Utrecht, St. Paul’s Grove Park and Duke’s Hall in London and Lincoln City Cultural Center in the U.S. She was a prize-winner in the Royal Academy of Music London Brahms competition, and recipient of Evelyn German Prize and Frank & Hilda Stokes and Marjorie Meyer Memorial Prize.