Rowan Hudson’s Passing Ships at The Jazz Room

A welcome return to The Jazz Room by jazz pianist Rowan Hudson with a new line up

Pianist and composer Rowan Hudson has been performing in London and Europe over the last seven years, collaborating with a wide variety of ensembles as well as leading his own trio.

Here he brings us his Passing Ships, a new five piece ensemble put together to perform his original compositions. With the emphasis on scene setting and atmosphere, the music is often introspective and quiet, with a minimalist approach to composition reminiscent of Philip Glass and Simon Jeffes. The pieces form portraits of places and narratives, with a theme of seas and oceans throughout.

Rowan Hudson – Piano
Sophie Creaner – Clarinet
Sophie English – Cello
Jj Stillwell – Double Bass
Angus Bishop – Drums/Percussion

Rowan’s piano playing is sensitively paced, supple and elegant. His dynamic palette is varied and colourful: he can do the gentlest whispered pianissimos and muscular fortes without ever losing clarity or quality of tone, and he can make piano sounds bend and waver, seemingly effortlessly.
Tickets £12 in advance, £15 on the door


This slideshow requires JavaScript.